Association of Filmmakers of Bosnia and Herzegovina, with the support of Stari Grad Municipality and Film Fund, organized the selection of this year's candidate for the Academy Award. The committee voted for the candidate and chose MEN DON'T CRY by Alen Drljević.

Oscar is awarded by the American Academy of Motion Pictures, Arts and Sciences AMPAS, and award ceremony is one of the shows with the highest ratings in the USA.

Film MEN DON’T CRY premiered at this year’s Karlovy Vary International Film Festival where it was awarded with Special Jury Prize and Europa Cinemas Label. Film was screened at the Sarajevo Film Festival as part of the Competition Program with the great success and it will go into the cinema distribution in Bosnia and Herzegovina in September.

Cast of the film includes: Boris Isaković, Leon Lučev, Emir Hadžihafizbegović, Sebastian Cavazza, Ermin Bravo, Boris Ler, Ivo Gregurević, Primož Petkovšek, Jasna Đuričić and Izudin Bajrović; authors of the scripts are Alen Drljević and Zoran Solomun and producers Damir Ibrahimović and Jasmila Žbanić. The film has been edited by Vladimir Gojun and Director of the Photography is Erol Zubčević.

Members of the Committee, that have been confirmed by the AMPAS previously, were: Ines Tanović, Danis Tanović, Mustafa Mustafić, Nedžad Begović, Tina Šmalcelj, Redžinald Šimek, Ratko Orozović, Nermin Hamzagić and Predrag Solomun.

Association of Filmmakers of Bosnia and Herzegovina has been candidating films for Academy Awards in the Best Foreign Language Film category for the last 15 years. As a reminder, Association of Filmmakers of Bosnia and Herzegovina nominated NO MAN’S LAND by Danis Tanović in March of 2002 and it was awarded with the Best Foreign Language Oscar.

According to the rules of the AMPAS, producers of Bosnian and Herzegovinian feature length films that have been distributed in cinemas in Bosnia and Herzegovina between October 1st, 2016 and October 1st, 2017 for 7 consecutive days, have DCP or 35 mm print of the film and are predominantly made in the language of the country they are coming from could apply for the nomination. For more details about the rules for candidacy for this award please check: